A drunk-driving accident is a tragic incident that can result in life-altering catastrophic injuries or wrongful death. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), drunk driving takes almost 10,000 lives each year, accounting for around 30% of traffic fatalities. Even though drunk driving is illegal in practically every US state, a life is lost in an alcohol-related accident every 52 minutes.
Involved in a DUI collision? We advise you to consult our qualified drunk driving accident attorneys in South Carolina immediately after the accident to protect your rights. The Dejeu Law Firm’s skilled car accident lawyer in Myrtle Beach will tirelessly pursue all possible avenues to get the rightful compensation you deserve for damages caused by a drunk driver.
What compensation can I recover in a drunk driving accident?
Under South Carolina law, anyone who causes an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances is subject to both criminal and civil prosecution. If you get injured in a drunk driving accident, you may be able to seek compensation for the following:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Long-term care and rehabilitation costs
- Loss of income, wages, and benefits as a result of your inability to work
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of consortium
- Property damage to your car
- Damages for wrongful death
Apart from the above compensatory damages, the victim can also be awarded punitive damages for the drunk driver’s reckless actions. Awarding punitive damages is to punish the culprit while deterring others from engaging in similar behavior.
What is the Legal Alcohol Limit Under South Carolina Law?
Many people who drive after a few drinks claim that they are not intoxicated, but it is crucial to note that whether or not a motorist feels they are intoxicated is irrelevant. They can be prosecuted with DUI in South Carolina if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is any of the following:
- The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) should be less than 0.08% for a motorist over 21 years and operating a non-commercial car.
- The BAC should not go beyond 0.04% or more for commercial vehicle drivers.
- If a motorist is under 21, the BAC should not be higher than 0.02 percent.
Hit by a Drunk Driver? Our Car Accident Lawyers Can Help.
Experienced South Carolina drunk driving car accident attorney at The Dejeu Law Firm can help you navigate the complexities of such accidents with ease. Since I am also a lawyer in Myrtle Beach who defends charges of drunk driving, I understand what forms of evidence are available and how to analyze them.
We will conduct a thorough investigation into the accident, the events leading up to it, and the drunk driver’s previous DUI convictions to build a strong case. Let us use our expertise in dealing with the defendant’s insurance company on your behalf while you focus on health recovery. Call us for a free consultation at (843) 907-9764.